32nd Session of the FAO Regional Conference for Europe November 2-4, 2020

On 2 November 2020, the opening ceremony of the 32nd annual conference of the FAO Regional Conference for Europe took place.

In total, more than 367 representatives from 51 FAO member countries in Europe and Central Asia, as well as specialists from international organizations in the field of agriculture (IFAD, ICARDA, World Food Program, etc.) took part in the Conference.

A distinctive feature of the conference washolding it for the first time under the chairmanship of a country from Central Asia – the Republic of Uzbekistan. It was attended by a record number of ministers and deputy ministers of agriculture of European countries in its entire history – 33 people.

More than 1500 people watched the webcast of the conference every day. The meeting garnered over 15,000 Twitter views.

At the beginning of the event, the Minister of Agriculture of Uzbekistan Jamshid Khodjaev was elected as a chairman of the regional conference until 2022 and authorized to unite the efforts of the countries of the regions to solve urgent problems of the agro-agenda and organizational and financial issues.

Within the framework of the ministerial panel session, the participants of the event expressed deep gratitude to the Government of Uzbekistan for the formation and presentation for discussion of issues of food security and development of the agricultural sector that are relevant for the entire region.

The participants of the event agreed on the existence of pressing problems common for all countries:

  1. a) sustainable provision of the population with food (proper nutrition);
  2. b) reduction of food and agricultural lose;
  3. c) increasing the level of employment of rural areas for younger generation and women; d) stability of international supply chains of agricultural products.

FAO Regional Conference continues its work within the framework of thematic plenary sessions on November 3-4 of this year.

32-я сессия Региональной конференции ФАО по Европе 2-4 ноября 2020 г.

2 ноября 2020 года состоялась церемония открытия 32-й Сессии региональной конференции ФАО для Европы.

Всего в заседании приняло участие более 367 представителей из 51 стран-членов ФАО в Европе и Центральной Азии, а также специалисты международных организаций в сфере сельского хозяйства (МФСР, ИКАРДА, Всемирная продовольственная программа и др.).

Отличительной особенностью конференции стало ее проведение впервые под председательством страны из Центральной Азии – Республики Узбекистан. В ней приняло участие рекордное за всю её историю количество министров и заместителей министров сельского хозяйства стран Европы – 33 чел.

Интернет-трансляцию конференции ежедневно смотрели более 1500 человек. Встреча собрала более 15 000 просмотров в Твиттере.

В начале мероприятия министр сельского хозяйства Узбекистана Жамшид Ходжаев был избран председателем региональной конференции до 2022 г. и уполномочен объединять усилия стран региона в решении актуальных проблем агро-повестки и организационно-финансовых вопросов.

В рамках министерской панельной сессии участники мероприятия выразили глубокую признательность Правительству Узбекистана за формирование и выставление на обсуждение актуальных для всего региона вопросов продовольственной безопасности и развития агросектора.

Участники мероприятия сошлись во мнении о наличии единых для всех стран злободневных проблемах:

а) устойчивое обеспечение населения продовольствием (правильное питание);

б) снижение пищевых и сельхоз потерь;

в) повышение уровня занятости сельской молодежи и женщин;

г) стабильность международных цепочек поставки агротоваров.

Региональная конференция ФАО продолжила свою работу в рамках тематических пленарных заседаний 3-4 ноября т.г.